That’s Institutionalized – Expressing Yourself

“I find I’m so excited that I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it’s the excitement only a free man can feel. A free man at a start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope to see my friend and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams.
I hope.” ~ Red, The Shawshank Redemption

Blend

That’s Institutionalized is a blog series about inmates. The series showcases the anonymous writings of inmates in Virginia. The writings include narrative accounts of past lives, convictions, dreams, and future plans.

Expressing Yourself

Below is an anonymous assignment written by an inmate.


I dream about how I messed my life up.

I think about how I can fix my life.

I am afraid of failing and not getting my life right.

I am interested in school, college, and my life.

On the weekends, I like to enjoy rest and spending time with myself and family.

I am good at helping others and not myself.

I am glad when everything and everybody is alright.

I am sad when I think about my mother and the way I lost her.

I can’t believe I’m in computer and writing class.

I have difficulty in dealing with my failures in life.

I laugh when I’m happy and sometimes sad.

I cry when I’m sad.

I get angry when things go wrong.

I love it when everything is all right.

Leave a Reply

